December 15, 2020

WASHINGTON – Global tech trade association ITI today announced the winners of the inaugural Industry Awards Program, which recognizes industry innovations across five awards categories. ITI congratulates Adobe, HP Inc., Ericsson, Tenable, and Salesforce for their accomplishments in advancing innovation worldwide.

“ITI’s mission is to promote innovation to improve lives and shape a better future for generations to come. These industry leaders exemplify how tech serves as a force for good, and I am proud to honor their accomplishments in our first annual ITI Industry Awards Program,” said ITI President and CEO and President Jason Oxman.

ITI’s Annual Awards Program recognizes the many ways in which technology companies are improving the lives of people and communities across the globe, including to address issues like climate change and to further diversity, equity and inclusion. Watch ITI’s video announcing the winners here.

Tech Impact Award: Tenable

This award recognizes a member company that has been a leader in tech policy advancement and has played a major role in how tech is positively viewed in today’s society. Tenable is focused on educating policymakers on the importance of cyber hygiene and has coordinated with key Members of Congress, industry partners, and advocacy associations to call for dedicated funding for state and local governments to navigate the impacts of the pandemic and address critical cybersecurity gaps as well as CISA funding to replenish the Continuous Diagnostics and Mitigation program after funding was redirected in the response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Environmental Steward Award: Adobe

This award recognizes a member company that has been a game changer in national or international environmental policy, energy efficiency, green procurement, product stewardship, or sustainability. Adobe was one of the first to set ambitious Science-Based Targets as well as commit to The Climate Group RE100 100 percent renewable energy goal which they plan to reach without the use of offsets by 2035. Through partnerships, Adobe has reduced its total energy consumption by over 10,000MWh and reduced our greenhouse gases emissions by 1000 tonnes in the past three years.

International Advocacy Award: Ericsson

This award recognizes a member company that demonstrates a record of international policy outside the United States that fosters the exchange of innovation, education, and awareness. As it operates in over 180 countries, Ericsson recognizes the critical need for globally harmonized spectrum and brings delegations of partners together to play a significant role in advancing this agenda. Ericsson helped drive the hard-fought agreement to allow 5G services to operate in the 24 gigahertz band while protecting weather satellites in the adjacent spectrum was a result universally hailed as a triumph globally, by regulators and industry representatives.

Corporate Social Responsibility Award: HP Inc.

This award recognizes a member company that has developed and executed initiatives aimed at improving lives of the people and the businesses impacted by tech industry work. HP was among one of the first companies to begin producing urgently-needed medical supplies at the beginning of the pandemic. They have also created programs to help students in need acquire devices, donated products and grants, and curated free educational content.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award: Salesforce

This award recognizes a member company that has developed and executed initiatives aimed at advancing DEI within and outside their organization through hiring and training, STEM education, policy development, and community engagement. Internally, Salesforce launched the Racial Equality and Justice Task Force with four pillars to create change focused on: People, Purchasing, Philanthropy, and Policy. Their purchasing team will spend $100 million with Black-owned business over the next three years and commits to a 25 percent year-over year growth in spend with minority-owned businesses. Additionally, they have committed to advocating on the federal, state, and local levels of government for policies to address racial inequality.

Companies receiving an honorable mention in recognition of their achievements include Accenture, Amazon, AMD, Equinix, Intel Corporation, McAfee, Nielsen, Samsung, Schneider Electric, Softbank Group, Snap Inc., and Twilio.

The winners were selected by ITI’s 2020 Nominations Committee: Tim Regan, former Chair of ITI’s Board of Directors and former Senior Vice President at Corning; Hillary Brill, Interim Executive Director, Institute For Technology Law & Policy – Georgetown Law; Alexandra Reeve Givens, President & CEO, Center For Democracy & Technology; Dr. Nicol Turner Lee, Senior Fellow, Governance Studies and Director, Center for Technology Innovation, Brookings; and Scott Wallsten, President and Senior Fellow, Technology Policy Institute.